for 5 instruments (1991)

Fresko is a tribute to the great composer Alexander Scriabin, and an attempt to understand and describe his music from my point of view as a composer in the late 20th century. I am always fascinated by the special harmonies in his later works, his musical gestures, and his structural compositional thinking.

Commissioned by Radio France, Paris 1991

©Verlag Breitkopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden


for clarinet in B-flat, trombone, violoncello, harp, and piano


24 min.


Paris, 28 January 1992

Soloists of the Ensemble InterContemporain:
Alain Damien, clarinet; Benny Sluchin, trombone;
Dimitri Vassilakis, piano; Frédérique Cambreling, harp;
Pierre Strauch, violoncello

Looking for the music?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.