for four percussionists and tape

Fábrica II is a is a composition for percussion and electronic sounds based on machine noises and sound atmospheres from factories and is an extended version of Fábrica. Fábrica II was originally composed for the percussion ensemble Okuta, whose four players are specialized in the interpretation of music from ethnological sources from several different continents. But percussion ensembles of any kind can find interesting musical solutions in improvisation with the electroacoustic part. No score exists for this composition, since the musicians select their own models for improvisation from the electronic music and comment, vary,  and transform them with their own instrumentarium. The development is determined by the electronic music on the one hand, and the musicians must agree on improvisational guidelines on the other hand. The instruments can be amplified and mixed into the acoustic level of the electronic music by a sound director.

Commissioned by SR Radio, Saarbrücken and Groupe de Musique Électroacoustique (GmeB), Bourges 1994


four percussionists and tape


30 min.


Saarbrücken, 27 May 1995



Looking for the music?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

Useful links

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.