for wind ensemble (1998)

For some time now I have been dealing with forms of variation of musical gestures. It is especially important to recognize and understand musical structures, including their manifold variations. In Oktett this becomes especially clear in the gradual transformation of the refrain, which is heard six times. Before and after the refrain there are three sections each with different, often very contrasting musical content. This ranges from very quiet passages to violent outbursts. Thereby the refrain works like a mirror that illuminates and varies similar musical events that precede and follow it. 

©Breikopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden.




19 min.


Rotterdam, 7 March 1999
Sabine Meyer Wind Ensemble


Sabine Meyer Wind Ensemble​

Looking for score & parts?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

Useful links

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.