for 7 instruments and live electronics (1990)

Nachtstücke (Night Pieces) was written in the spring of 1990 and is partly based on an electronic composition, Poèmes, from 1988. I further developed the musical elements in Nachtstücke and expanded them with three elaborate solos for double bass, flute and percussion. On the one hand, the live electronics have the task of making otherwise hardly audible sounds acoustically perceptible through the amplification of the instruments and to dynamically fit them into the respective musical sequence; on the other hand, the electronic modification of the flute, clarinet and double bass sounds create a sonic bridge to the synthesizer/trombone and the percussion….

©Breikopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden.


Ensemble: electronics


35 min.


Frankfurt, 9 Dec. 1990

Ensemble Modern, cond.: Ingo Metzmacher

Looking for score & parts?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.