For many years I have been fascinated by the compositional work of Alexander Scriabin. His “Poeme-Nocturne” op. 61 for piano shows his formal rigor and his innovative harmony. In my composition for eleven instruments, I follow this stringency, whereby – as with Scriabin – individual motifs and gestures determine the structure. The harmony is borrowed from the richness of colors of Scriabin’s music, extended by microtonality and noise-like sounds, which, as it were, fit into the strict structure of the piece, as does the instrumentation.

Commissioned by E-MEX Ensemble, Essen and Ensemble Proxima Centauri, Bordeaux 2015

©Verlag Neue Musik, Berlin


Ensemble: 2 flutes, clarinet in B-flat, soprano saxophone, 2 percussionists, piano, celesta and string trio (violin, viola, violoncello)

11 min.

„Freiburg-Version”: flute, oboe, clarinet in B-flat, 1 percussionist, piano, celesta and string trio (violin, viola, violoncello)

©Verlag Neue Musik, Berlin


Cologne, 27 Jan. 2016
E-MEX and Proxima Centauri Ensemble

Freiburg, 25 April 2018
Ensemble Recherche

Looking for score & parts?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.