after poems by Erich Fried (1987)

Erich Fried’s poems are characterized by a special humanitarian commitment, in an epoch in which mankind must live with the possibility of self-destruction for the first time in its history. On the one hand, the poems are deeply disturbing, intended to illustrate the urgency of our present situation, and on the other hand, they reflect the personal feelings and longings of each individual. Accordingly, the use of sparsely composed and orchestrated sections over generous passages has its interpretive purpose.

Commissioned by WDR Radio, Köln 1987

©Breitkopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden


for mezzo-soprano, bass-clarinet, synthesizer, two percussionists, live-electronic and tape

45 min.


Cologne, 23 Oct. 1987
Linda Hirst, Michael Riessler, Michael Obst, Isao Nakamura, Gregory Riffel

Looking for the music?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

Useful links

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.