Images for violin solo comprises eight short pieces. They consist of five pictures interrupted by an Intermède, framed by a Prélude at the beginning and an Épilogue at the end. These three quiet pieces are especially significant, because they expose the musical material, which in the following segments is processed partly in a virtuosic-complex manner, partly in an almost tonal-painting manner. The restriction to a few building blocks that recur in ever new combinations and in varied forms seems somewhat introverted in connection with the classical formal structure. However, it is precisely this limitation that sharpens the view of the musical “pictures”.

©Breitkopf & Härtel, Wiesbaden


for violin solo


Leipzig, 28 Jan. 2003

René Bogner, violin

Looking for the music?

Photo © Guido Werner

About Michael obst

Michael Obst is a composer, pianist, and teacher. He began his successful composing career with electronic music and subsequently composed works for music theater, film and concert halls. His experience as a pianist with the Ensemble Modern, enriched his understanding of contemporary music. After 25 fulfilling years of teaching, he is now excited to once again concentrate on his own composition projects.

All works © Michael Obst.
Unauthorised reproduction is prohibited.